ADD TO FAV | SET AS HOMEPAGE| CHINESE Tue, 27 Oct 2020 16:39:32 GMT

Current:Home > Departments Departments

Department of Pathophysiology

Post time:2017-12-13 Viewed:201

        The Department of Pathophysiology was founded in the 1950s. In 1955, the Chinese government planned to adopt the Soviet medical education model and invited Soviet experts to set up the first pathophysiology training class in Beijing. Zhang Zongyi (hematology) and Dai Baomin (pathology) from Sichuan University were appointed to attend the class. In 1956, the Department of Pathophysiology was founded. Qiu Jianchun from West China Hospital (endocrine) served as the first director of the Department of Pathophysiology. Other members included Gao Dehua and Li Shuhua from the Department of Pathology. Wang Xiangqiu and Xiong Qida from the Department of Physiology conducted a preliminary preparatory work.

In 1965, the Department of Pathophysiology was canceled and merged into the Department of Pathology. In 1965, the Leptospirosis Laboratory was established. In 1969, the Chinese Academy of Military Medical Sciences organized a national combat readiness research 523 (Malaria) and 710 (Leptospira) prevention project.  Dai Baomin and other professors were involved in the 710 leptospirosis disease research. Other members successively included: Yin Qiangzhong, Wang Boyao, Zhao Huiye, Zhao Lingyun, Wang Kaixiu, Wu Shurong, and so on. In 1978, the Department of Pathophysiology resumed. Professor Dai Baomin was the second director of the department and Xiong Qikuan was the associate director. Other members included: Luan Youping, Wang Wenqiu, Zhao Huiye, Zhao Lingyun, Shen Xuening, Li Xun, Zhong Chengyuan, He Ronghua, and so on.

The department of pathophysiology was approved as a master degree authorization discipline in 1979, and a doctorate-authorized discipline in 1981. In 1984, Professor Wang Shuren started serving as the third director. Departments of pathophysiology and Leptospirosis separated. Other members successively include: Luan Youping, Wang Wenqiu, Zhao Huiye, Zhao Lingyun, Shen Xuening, Li Xun, Wu Longying, Zhong Chengyuan, He Ronghua, Li Yimin, Yang Benduan, Huang Ning and Zhi Maohui. Professor Wang Shuren has an important influence on pathophysiology teaching material construction in China. He has been a chief or deputy editor or editor for 10 pathophysiology textbooks. In 1994, pathophysiology was approved as a discipline of basic medical post-doctoral research center. In 1994, it was approved as a key university discipline. In 1995, it was approved as a key discipline in Sichuan Province. In 1998, it was approved as a "211 Project "key discipline. In 2005, Professor Huang Ning became the fourth director of the department. Other members successively include: Li Xun, Yang Zhimei, Huang Ying, Wang Yufang, Wang Xiaoying, Li Jingyu, Wang Yi, Chen Junli and Chen Shanze.

Pathophysiology is a core course of medical education that integrates basic and clinical research and reflects the pathogenesis, development and outcome of human diseases. The central task of pathophysiology is to explore the pathogenesis and inward nature of disease which means knows its however and knows its reason why.

Before 1989, the teaching task of the Department of Pathophysiology mainly included the theoretical and experimental teaching for the undergraduates from all the colleges of West China Medical School. After 1989, the college established the functional laboratory to take up the pathophysiological experimental teaching work. Currently, the Department of Pathophysiology is responsible for the teaching of undergraduate medical students from College of Basic and Forensic Medicine, College of clinical medicine, College of Pharmaceutical Science, College of Stomatological Medicine and College of Public health. 

The early research directions of the Department of Pathophysiology were mainly focused on: (1) Thymus Immunity; (2) Bone marrow transplantation in the treatment of Acute Radiation Sickness; (3) Leptospira Infection; (4) Acute Hemorrhagic Necrotizing Pancreatitis; pathogenesis and mechanisms of Diabetes; (5) The functional role of GABA receptor in liver failure(6) Innate immunity and Antibacterial peptide. Among them, the research of leptospirosis Infection from Professor Dai Baomin has a major impact in China, and thus he won State Science and Technology Awards. Currently, the Department of Pathophysiology are mainly focused on: (1) Innate Immunity and Signalings of Inflammatory gene regulation; (2) Identification of Drug targets and Drug Design; (3) Epigenetic regulation mechanism of Innate Immunity; (4) Innate immunity and Human Major Diseases; (5) Mechanism of Tumor resistance and targeted therapy; (6) Pathophysiology of Cardiovascular Disease.